At the Mediterranean Sea

SeaThis week, we–Jan, our daughter, a friend of hers, and I–spent a day at the beach at the west coast of Italy, in Marina di Pescia Romana.

Although the school holiday has long started, the beach was still quiet. After all, it’s only the first week of July. The peak holiday season in Italy is August, especially the weeks around August 15–Ferragosto.

It was a lovely day amid bright blue and sparkling turquoise. An inspiring day, which made me seek for the right words to communicate its essence and share it with you.

That evening I read a post on Rosanna’s blog, Writing on the Pages of Life, which was about new writing ideas. I love how Rosanna always looks for creative ways to learn and grow in writing non-fiction. This particular post mentioned ways such as early morning writing, writing by prearrangement, haiku’s, and haibuns.

Then it happened. I too–like Rosanna–fell in love with the haibun, which is the combination of two poems: a short prose poem and a haiku. Here are my very first attempts, inspired by our day at the Mediterranean Sea.

***********

Liquid Embrace

Water envelopes me as I walk into the sparkling waves. I stretch out my arms to embrace the dancing light and the vastness of the sea. Wordless worship wells up from within my soul, overflows to join the praise of all creation.

Floating on the waves
Eyes closed and breathing slowly
Peaceful in God’s arms

***********

BeachOn The Beach

Radiant blue, endless turquoise. Quietly rolling waves softly consign their collars of foam to the golden sand. A breeze caresses the skin. The parasol flaps in the wind like the wings of a helpless bird.

Seagulls, so it seems
With ev’ry wave of the cool
sea, girls’ high-pitched screams.

 

4 thoughts on “At the Mediterranean Sea

  1. Writing for the Love of God (A Haibun)

    In the spiritual journey, writing had been my constant companion. Allowing me the freedom to explore the breadth of my soul; to express the confusion in my mind; and to help me navigate
    the path towards the Divine.

    Pen and paper
    are like candles that we light –
    symbols of our desire to find God…within and without.

    Hi Milly,

    I’m so happy you too have found the joy in writing Haibuns. Italy is a lovely, sunny, warm country – you and your family are so blessed to have the chance to live there! Since I was in college, I’ve dreamed of going to Umbria. Was not able to do that when we went there, maybe some time in the future. Looking forward to reading about Umbria from your blog. 🙂

    • Hi Rosanna,

      Thanks for sharing your Haibun, Writing for the Love of God. It’s beautiful. Also for me, writing is a wonderful travel companion as I seek direction for my life. In addition, it is my continuous prayer that God use my words to encourage and inspire other people as well.

      And you’re right, we feel so privileged that God has called us to serve Him in Umbria. Let us know when you’re around again 🙂

  2. I’m really not good at this kind of writing, like you’ve done here. I always love to read what others write – inspiring for sure! Thank you for sharing with us at The Loft! Hope to see you again next week!

    • Honestly, I don’t know if I’m good at it 🙂 but I do know that it helps me grow as a writer. I love reading, what I call, “poetic prose” and want to be able to write it myself. I dream of transforming experiences into words in a way that a reader tastes what I tasted, sees what I saw, hears what I heard… lives what I lived. I’m still struggling with “telling less–showing more”. Anyway, trying to write haibuns helps!

      Thanks for stopping by, Rebekah. And I love #TheLoft.

I'd love to know what you think!

